Chakras 101 – Part 1

Chakras are quite famous elements in almost every psychic development system. The term ‘Chakra’ originates from sanscrit, and it means ‘vortex’. Knowing the location, colour and basic description of each chakra is very important for psychic development, as stimulating and developing the chakras is a way for you to sense more energy, and understand more of its meaning. Well, let’s not get into details.


The Chakras system has been introduced to the Western world through the works of Theosophical society, but there are theories that even ancient Europe tribes were aware of the energy centres in the human body. Basically, all you need to know about each chakra is the name, location and associated colour, and how it opens (front, up or down). Both original Hindu names and English names are included in this mini-guide, and the colour is represented by the boxes. OK, let’s move on :).

1. The Root Chakra

This is the first chakra, also known as “the base”. It is located at the base of the spine. Is has only one opening, pointing downwards. This chakra is related to the spinal column, kidneys and governs the adrenal glands. It’s the rooted, physical part of our being, governing survival and primal instincts. It’s how we respond to our own body and the nature around us. In simple words, it says “eat, don’t allow to be eaten” :).

2. The Sexual Chakra

Known also as the navel or the sacral chakra, located just below the navel. This is the first chakra that opens both front and back. It’s related to the reproductive system, and the glands affected are the gonads. Yes, this chakra is related to sexuality, and additionally to the relationship with others. It’s not just about sex, but more about the ability to form intimate bonds, not necessary sexual. You can describe it as “I want to have sex with this female”.

3. The Personality Chakra

The Solar Plexus chakra, located below breastbone, slightly to the left. Opens front and back, controls stomach, liver, gall bladder and nervous system. It’s about will power, determination and personality. It’s about your destiny and the way you fit into the world. You can describe it as “this is my female, this is my home”.

These three chakras below are quite physically oriented. This means they focus us on the physical planes. The next four chakras are turning out attention to the world of emotions, psychic, and spirituality.

4. Heart Chakra

This chakra is located in proximity to heart, and it’s responsible for emotions. It opens front and back, and it’s responsible for bringing emotions to your life. It controls primary your heart, lungs and blood. The best way to describe this chakra is to phrase it “I like that female, she means something to me, I feel something towards her”. This chakra is also responsible for improving your control over psychic abilities. Pay attention to it.

5. The Expressive Chakra

The chakra of communication, it controls your entire throat and communication capabilities. “I’m telling you, I want to marry this girl” – with these words, we describe this chakra, as it’s all about communicating out will towards the world around us. You can have your will to shape your life, but if you have problems with the fifth chakra, you won’t be able to turn your will into action.

6. The Third Eye (Knowledge Chakra)

The famous “Third Eye”, this chakra governs out intuition and steers our psychic abilities. It also owns the control over our brain and everything’s that we can find within. This chakra is responsible for showing us the world as it really is – and it’s also an important energy centre when it comes to inner growth, as it allows us not only to see things around us, but also things within us.

7. The Crown Chakra

This chakra is often associated with white, purple or gold colours. And all I can tell you about this chakra is that it’s purely focused on our spirituality, connecting us to higher values, to the “source” which some call God.

The above are very short description of each chakra – you should look for proper book, for example, Wheels of Life: A User’s Guide to the Chakra System, to get more detailed descriptions.

That’s it – the second part of this article will be published in few more days, so stay tuned and be sure to sign up for free updates via RSS.

What other things do you know about each of these chakras?

Don't forget to follow A State of Mind on Twitter and get new posts via RSS or via email.

Comments and Discussion

Be sure to add your own comment, feedback, opinion and/or suggestion :).

  1. Awesome :D just used some of this knowledge XD. Thanks :). Hmmm now I just need to memorize it all for when I might wanna use it. :P

    by Merlin / February 2nd 2011